With Gratitude Convention Swap

Chocolate Chip With Gratitude

I was trying to come up with a swap card for the 2008 Stampin’ Up! convention using “With Gratitude.” Believe me, I must have been having a mental block. It took me three tries to finally come up with something that was satisfactory. This was my first try and for some reason I didn’t like it. I thought something was missing or just wasn’t the way I thought it should be. Notice the polished stone technique on the leaf.

 

Recipe:

Stamp Set: With Gratitude

Cardstock: Chocolate Chip, More Mustard, Ruby Red, Confetti Cream

Ink: Basic Brown, Chocolate Chip

Accessories: Brads, Chocolate Chip 5/8” Grosgrain Ribbon

 

Old Olive With Gratitude

Okay, here is my second attempt at making a convention swap card using the stamp set With Gratitude. This one is brighter using Old Olive, but again, something just wasn’t what I wanted. Designers block or just exhaustion! The leaf is the polished stone technique and embossed with gold embossing powder.

 

Recipe:

Stamp Set: With Gratitude, Sanded Background

Cardstock: Old Olive, More Mustard, Ruby Red, Confetti Cream

Ink: Basic Brown, Versamark, More Mustard

Accessories: Brads, Vanilla 5/8” Grosgrain Ribbon

 

This is the With Gratitude card I decided to go with.  I swapped these at the 2008 Stampin’ Up! Convention in Salt Lake City, UT. There are two easy techniques involved with making this card, although very time consuming when you are making 60 of these puppies. The first technique is embossing and the other technique is polished stone.

 

To emboss the leaf: I inked up my stamp with Versamark, rubbed my cardstock with the embossing buddy (very important – so powder doesn’t stick to places you don’t want it to), and stamped my image. Pour gold embossing powder on inked image and heat with heat tool. Watch it turn shinny but be careful not to burn your cardstock!

 

To make the polished stone background: Take a cotton ball and soak it with rubbing alcohol. Take two or three different re-inker colors and drop a couple of drops on your wet cotton ball. Dab the cotton ball on your cardstock until you get the look you want. Allow your cardstock to dry and attach your cut out image or stamp any image on the polished stone cardstock itself.

 

Recipe:

Stamp Set: With Gratitude

Cardstock: Bravo Burgundy, Confetti Cream, Glossy White

Ink: Bravo Burgundy, Versamark

Accessories: Gold Embossing Powder, Gold Brads, 1/16” circle handheld punch, burgundy grosgrain ribbon

 

I will post the other swap cards I made for convention. Check back soon!

0 Responses to “With Gratitude Convention Swap”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Fine Print

All of the content on my blog is COPYRIGHT © 2008 Charlene Monroe. This includes designs, text, and photographs. All artwork is shared for your personal inspiration only and may not be used for publication or contest submission, or monetary gain. All supplies are from Stampin’ Up! unless otherwise stated. Thanks so much for respecting these limitations.

Online Ordering Is Here- click the SHOP NOW button upper right corner on my SU website page

Fall-Winter Collection 2008

Holiday Mini Catalog

Country Living Special

Contact Me

November Project

November project #2

Big Shot – when on Big Shot page click on Training Video to see how to use your BIG SHOT

Sudsol Member – You can be too!

Blog Stats

  • 12,451 hits